Ducks Team Captains: A Look Back

In the Anaheim Ducks franchise history there have been a total of eight players that have served as the team captain.  The team started with Troy Loney for the inaugural 1993-94 season. Randy Ladouceur would then become captain in 1994 and remained until 1996. With two years under his belt in the NHL, Paul Kariya would take over the captain role in the beginning of the 1996-97 season. Kariya would remain the captain through the 2002-03 season. The then “Mighty Ducks” had their miracle run that year, going all the way to the Stanley Cup finals only to lose in seven games.

Following the Ducks first trip to the Stanley Cup Finals, Kariya would leave the team and go to the Colorado Avalanche. Steve Rucchin took over as team captain for one year, the 2003-04 season. The Ducks acquired Scott Niedermayer in 2005 and he began the team captain. Niedermayer would be the Ducks captain during the 2006-07 Championship year. We all remember this photo.


Ducks Captain Scott Niedermeyer hosts the Stanley Cup in 2007.

Ducks Captain Scott Niedermayer hosts the Stanley Cup in 2007.

While Niedermayer was pondering retirement, Chris Pronger became the team captain for the 2007-08 season. Niedermayer did return and was the Ducks captain for 2008 through 2010. Ryan Getzlaf took over the captain role in the 2010-11 season and is still currently the Ducks main man. Here is a brief summary of the Ducks Captains over the years. Who is your favorite?

Ducks Team Captains Since The Inaugural 1993 season:


Friend me on Facebook ! DucksNPucks

Follow me on Twitter ! @DucksNPucks93


About these ads

2 thoughts on “Ducks Team Captains: A Look Back

Comments are closed.